MINUTES REORGANIZATION MEETING - DECEMBER 5, 2022

The Board of Education of the Wilkes-Barre Area School District held a Reorganization Meeting on Monday, December 5, 2022. President Joseph A. Caffrey called the meeting to order at 6:15 p.m. and announced that the Board is meeting this day for the purpose of reorganization under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania, as amended.

Superintendent Brian Costello led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Board Secretary Tom Telesz called the roll:

9 members present: Atherton, Breese, Evans, Faust, Harris, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Caffrey

President Caffrey opened nominations for a Temporary President.

Mark Atherton moved to nominate Denise Thomas as Temporary President for the purpose of reorganization. There were no further nominations.

Mr. Evans moved to close the nominations seconded by Dr. Susek.

All in favor to close nominations for Temporary President - 9 Ayes

The Viva-Voce vote for Temporary President for the purpose of Reorganization was as follows:

Atherton:	Denise Thomas	Susek:	Denise Thomas
Breese:	Denise Thomas	Thomas:	Denise Thomas
Evans:	Denise Thomas	Walker:	Denise Thomas
Faust:	Denise Thomas	Caffrey:	Denise Thomas
Harris:	Denise Thomas	•	

Temporary President Denise Thomas opened nominations for President for the ensuing year.

Mr. Evans moved to nominate **Joseph Caffrey** for President. There were no further nominations.

Dr. Susek motioned, **seconded by Rev. Walker** to close the nominations for President. All in favor to close nominations for President – **9 Ayes**

The Viva-Voce vote for President for the ensuing year was as follows:

Atherton:	Joseph Caffrey	Susek:	Joseph Caffrey
Breese:	Joseph Caffrey	Thomas:	Joseph Caffrey
Evans:	Joseph Caffrey	Walker:	Joseph Caffrey
Faust:	Joseph Caffrey	Caffrey:	Joseph Caffrey
Harris:	Joseph Caffrey	•	- •

Joseph Caffrey was elected Board President for the 2023 school year.

President Caffrey thanked the Board for the vote of confidence and stated he is humbled and honored to serve as the Board President for the ensuing year.

MINUTES REORGANIZATION MEETING - DECEMBER 5, 2022

President Caffrey opened nominations for Vice President for the ensuing year.

Denise Thomas moved to nominate **Mark Atherton** for Vice President. There were no further nominations.

Mr. Evans moved, seconded by Mr. Breese to close the nominations for Vice President. All in favor of closing nominations for Vice President – 9 Ayes

The Viva-Voce vote for Vice President was as follows:

Atherton:	Mark Atherton	Susek:	Mark Atherton
Breese:	Mark Atherton	Thomas:	Mark Atherton
Evans:	Mark Atherton	Walker:	Mark Atherton
Faust:	Mark Atherton	Caffrey:	Mark Atherton
Harris:	Mark Atherton		

Mark Atherton was elected Vice President for the ensuing year.

Dr. Susek moved, seconded by Mr. Evans that all meetings be conducted in accordance with the rules set forth in the Reorganization Meeting of December 2, 1981, as amended December 2, 1999 and March 10, 2010 including Order of Business.

The vote was as follows: All in favor – 9 Ayes

Mr. Faust moved, seconded by Ms. Harris to appoint **Denise Thomas** as the PSBA Legislative Chairperson who will serve as the District's contact for PSBA's governmental relations efforts as well as to participate in county-level Legislative Action meetings with members of the General Assembly and to be the Section 4 Local Board Liaison.

The vote was as follows: All in favor – 9 Ayes

Dr. Susek moved, seconded by Mr. Evans that the Board Meetings be held on the second Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m.

The vote was as follows: All in favor – 9 Ayes

Mr. Faust moved, seconded by Ms. Thomas that the officers of the Board be authorized to draw orders for payrolls and for payment of bonds, interest, utilities and other pertinent bills as they come due.

The vote was as follows: 9 Ayes – Atherton, Breese, Evans, Faust, Harris, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Caffrey

MINUTES REORGANIZATION MEETING - DECEMBER 5, 2022

Mr. Faust presented Resolution #1

RESOLUTION #1

WHEREAS, **Rev. Shawn Walker** has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, his term of office expires in December 2022; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoint **Rev. Shawn Walker** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December 2025.

Mr. Faust moved to adopt this Resolution. All in favor - 9 Ayes

Mr. Breese presented Resolution #2

RESOLUTION #2

WHEREAS, **Mark Atherton** has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, his term of office expires in December 2022; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoint **Mark Atherton** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December 2025.

Mr. Breese moved to adopt this Resolution. All in favor – 9 Ayes

Mr. Evans presented Resolution #3

RESOLUTION #3

BE IT RESOLVED, that **Suzanne Saporito** be appointed Assistant Secretary of the Board of Education to serve until the Reorganization Meeting of December 2023, under the provisions of Section 434 of the Public School Code of 1949, as amended.

AND, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Assistant Secretary be bonded, and premium for such bond to be paid by the School District.

Mr. Evans moved to adopt this Resolution. The vote was as follows: 9 Ayes – Atherton, Breese, Evans, Faust, Harris, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Caffrey

Rev. Walker made a motion to adjourn seconded by Dr. Susek. All in favor – 9 Ayes

The meeting adjourned at 6:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Tom Telesz Board Secretary